World coins collection

Japanese Yen - a brief history of currency

Japanese yen

Japanese yen is the currency of Japan, one of the world's major reserve currencies. The currency code is JPY, digital is 392, the symbol is ¥. 1 yen = 100 sen.

The name of the Japanese currency comes from the name of the Chinese currency - the yuan. In turn, "yuan" in Chinese means "round object" or "round coin."

At the beginning of the 19th century, there were many monetary units on the territory of Japan, which were issued by many clans. There were times when 249 clan currencies were simultaneously used on the territory of the country. The yen was put into circulation in 1869, and from 1871 a ban was imposed on all previously issued clan currencies. The Japanese yen consisted of 100 sen and 1000 rin. Sen and Rin were withdrawn from circulation in 1954.

Ukrainian Hryvnia - Currency History

currency of Ukraine

Hryvnia - the national currency of Ukraine (since 1996). The currency code is UAH, digital - 980, symbol - ₴. 1 UAH = 100 kopecks.

The word hryvnia in the period of Kievan Rus meant female decoration in the form of a hoop, later this word was used as a measure of weight and count. The first coins in the Ukrainian lands, on which was the image of the coat of arms "trident", began to make Prince Vladimir the Great in the X century. During feudal fragmentation in the XII-XIV centuries, coinage stopped. The role of money served silver bars, which were called "hryvnia." From 1918 to 1922, the hryvnia existed as a monetary unit of the Ukrainian People's Republic.