World coins collection

Japanese Yen - a brief history of currency

Japanese yen

Japanese yen is the currency of Japan, one of the world's major reserve currencies. The currency code is JPY, digital is 392, the symbol is ¥. 1 yen = 100 sen.

The name of the Japanese currency comes from the name of the Chinese currency - the yuan. In turn, "yuan" in Chinese means "round object" or "round coin."

At the beginning of the 19th century, there were many monetary units on the territory of Japan, which were issued by many clans. There were times when 249 clan currencies were simultaneously used on the territory of the country. The yen was put into circulation in 1869, and from 1871 a ban was imposed on all previously issued clan currencies. The Japanese yen consisted of 100 sen and 1000 rin. Sen and Rin were withdrawn from circulation in 1954.

In 1945-1948, during the occupation of Japan, the occupation yen and the US dollar were in circulation along with the Japanese yen.

Currently, the Japanese yen is one of the main reserve currencies in the world with a stable exchange rate.

Now in circulation there are banknotes in denominations of 1,000, 2,000, 5,000 and 10,000 Japanese yen. As well as 1, 5, 10, 50, 100 and 500 yen coins, 5 and 50 yen coins have a central hole. All coins and banknotes are issued at the Imperial Mint in Tokyo.

coins of Japan